Home Governance Several Distinguished Scholars Get Accolades At UL

Several Distinguished Scholars Get Accolades At UL

by News Manager

MONROVIA: Professor Amos Claudius Sawyer College of Social Sciences and Humanities (formally Liberia College), University of Liberia, held its annual Academic Excellence Awards ceremony on April 6 to celebrate outstanding graduates, faculty, researchers and staffs for their remarkably achievements, dedication to service and quality teaching.

The keynote address was delivered by the Minister of Information, Cultural Affairs and Tourism, Ledgerhood Julius Rennie, Sr. He received huge applauses from the audience for words of motivation.

The program was colorful and well-attended.
This ceremony was an opportunity for the college to recognize students, faculty members and staffs who have maintained high standards with regard to their academic pursuits, quality teaching and dedicated service.

The honorees, 15 were selected based on academic excellence while others were selected by students, faculty and staffs through secret entries submitted to the Dean’s office.

The honorees have made the college proud and we honored them due to their demonstrated and proven hard work to overcome unforeseen circumstances and typical challenges associated with their undergraduate studies.

Not only have they succeeded in their studies, teaching and service, they’ve done so exceptionally well.

The honorees were given certificates of honor, recognition, appreciation and achievement in commemoration of their outstanding roles and achievements.

Assistant Professor Richard S. Anderson won the Distinguished Chair of the Year 2020-2021, while the Department of Communication and Media Studies won the Best Department of the Year 2020-2021.

Dean’s Welcome Statement
Prof. Dr. Julius Julukon Sarwolo Nelson, President of the University of Liberia, Prof. Dr. Moses M. Zinnah, Vice President for Academic Affairs; Ledgerhood Julius Rennie, Sr., Minister, Ministry of Information, Cultural Affairs and tourism; Dr. Bill Twehway, Managing Director of the National Port Authority; Cletus A. Sieh, Coordinator, Office of the President, Mr. Sean Boda, Public Affairs Officer, U.S. Embassy in Liberia; Prof. Stephen M. Jubwe, Dean of Faculty/AVPAA, Mr. Ignatius D. Kunmeh, AVPA, Dr. Samuel Tor, Director of IBB Graduate Program of International Studies; Special Invitees, Chairs and Coordinators of Academic Departments; Our distinguished honorees, Faculty, Staffs, family members, Professional colleagues, students, the Fourth Estate, well-wishers, ladies and gentlemen.

We are here today to celebrate our distinguished graduates, outstanding faculty, our great researchers, our publishers and diligent administrators and dedicated staff.

Indeed, all the honorees desired to be here to be celebrated in a special way. The importance of recognizing our outstanding graduates, faculty, administrators and staff students is central to our mission of imparting quality education and celebrating remarkable achievement.

Our honorees should always be encouraged for their commitment and dedication to scholastic endeavors and service to duty. If you’re a teacher, you know that positive student recognition is a great incentive and motivator of continued student progress and good behavior.

  Again, let me extend my warn Congratulations to these brilliants 15 great men and women. You make us the college, faculty, chairs, and staff of this great institution proud. Three weeks ago, you proudly walked through the doors of these walls, but today you are home, not just home but a unique place where you established yourself. Make your stay comfortable and great. Prof. Amos C. Sawyer College of Social Sciences and Humanities is the best place to find yourself. 

One of the most critical aspects of being an educator is inspiring students to excel. Indeed, our faculty stood the test to mentor you all. It is wonderful to see all that you accomplished in pursuing your life’s goals. And your commitment to excel even now – in the face of challenging circumstances – motivates all of us to celebrate you in a special manner. Our graduates, especially the honorees, have demonstrated their ability to perform, achieve and meaningfully excel in scholastic activities, evidenced by achieving high grades and superior performance. 

Other honors were selected on the basis of academic excellence, demonstrated leadership, service and commitment to duty. The faculty members voted to select one of their own as the distinguished Chairs while our students also voted to select a department as the Outstanding Department of the Year.

  Our presence here today signify so much of what is great about our cherished college:  A community of intellectuals, researchers and central thinkers.   Our academic programs helped our students to enrich our students’ knowledge, making them to be competitive in the job market. They are also in a strong position to be of service to the intellectual community in particular and society in general. We salute our graduates. 

1 Matthew Gonmah Magna Cum Laude Social Work
2 Archie W. Cole Cum Laude Social Work
3 Augustina Abigail Dorbor Cum Laude Sociology
4 Momolu G. Stewart Cum Laude Sociology
5 Mohammed A. Mamobah Cum Laude Sociology
6 Austin Payne Railey Cum Laude Sociology
7 Mamadee Sesay Cum Laude Sociology
8 Valayee V. Dukuly Cum Laude Sociology
9 Charlestta S. Wiles Cum Laude Demography
10 Mohammed H. Dolleh Cum Laude Demography
11 Theophilus G. Banks Cum Laude Demography
12 Linda K. Hoff Cum Laude Political Science
13 Fannie S. Kollie Cum Laude Comm. & Media Stud
1 Elsa G. Bolongei English and Language studies
2 Dekontee Drapper English and Language studies
C. Thesis Supervisors
1 Ernest Winderburk English and Language studies
2 Constant Pee English and Language studies
4 James Dweh Lott English and Language studies
1 Asst. Prof. Richmond S. Anderson Chairman Political Science
2 Dr. David M. F. Siaffa Professor English/Language Studies
3 Amrbues Momo Nebo, Sr. Instructor Political Science
4 Benjamin B. Sumo Teaching Assistant English/Language
1 Alfred K. Tarway- Twalla Professor Demography
2 David L. Wiles Assoc. Professor Geography
3 Elizabeth N. Zibs Instructor English
4 Whinell T. Shasha Instructor Comm. / Media Studies
5 David S. Konneh Instructor Political Science
F. Outstanding Student
1 Augustina Abigail Dorbor Sociology, Anthropology & Criminology
G. Recognition of Outstanding Staffs
1 Martin O. Cooper English and Language Studies
2 Henry Johnson Communication and Media Studies
3 James Kennedy French Studies
4 Mrs. Benetta T. G. Loboe Demography
H. Outstanding Department of Academic Year 2020/2021
1 Prof. Euriahs Togar Communication and Media Studies.
I. Distinguished Chairman of Academic Year 2020/2021
Prof. Richmond Anderson, Chair, Political Science

Related Posts

Leave a Comment