Home Education Nigerian Teachers Arrive

Nigerian Teachers Arrive

by newsmanager

MONROVIA: The Ministry of Education (MOE) has announced the arrival of an inaugural group of 14 Nigerian Technical Assistance Corps (TAC) Volunteer Teachers.

According to MOE release, the teachers’ arrival “marks a significant milestone in our quest to fortify the nation’s educational framework.”

MOE: “This initiative underscores President George Weah’s longstanding commitment to elevate Liberia’s education sector, and it stands as a priority within the Pro-poor Agenda for Development and Prosperity, a cornerstone of the CDC regime.”

The formal reception for the educators unfolded “gracefully” on Tuesday, September 26, 2023, at the Ministry of Education’s headquarters, housed within the Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf Ministerial Complex in Congo Town.

MOE added that this momentous event brought together eminent education stakeholders, distinguished government officials, and the local media to celebrate “this transformative partnership.”

During the ceremony, Education Minister, Professor Dao Ansu Sonii, emphasized that the genesis of this initiative stems from President Weah’s fervent dedication to the advancement of education in Liberia.

“The ultimate aim is to welcome a total of 42 TAC classroom teachers to our shores,” he added.

The initial cadre of 14 educators will be thoughtfully allocated across five of Liberia’s 15 counties- Lofa (3), Nimba (3), Bomi (1), Grand Bassa (2), and Grand Cape Mount (5).

Minister Sonii further disclosed that, “by the culmination of September, a second wave of volunteer teachers will join our ranks, with the final wave scheduled to arrive subsequently, thereby completing the complement of 42 volunteer teachers dispersed strategically throughout Liberia.”

Minister Sonii accentuated the profound importance of this endeavor, emphasizing that it signifies President Weah’s unwavering commitment to enhance our nation’s education sector.

Additionally, Minister Sonii assuaged any concerns regarding the job security of our local educators, clarifying that President Weah’s intent is to address sectoral challenges without compromising the employment of our dedicated Liberian teaching workforce.

“The presence of these esteemed TAC volunteer teachers in Liberia materialized through a bilateral agreement between the Presidents of Nigeria and Liberia, Bola Ahmed Tinubu and George Manneh Weah, respectively,” the release added.

The Nigerian government has demonstrated their solidarity by providing remuneration to these teachers, while the Liberian government extends its gracious hospitality, ensuring accommodation and basic social amenities under the stewardship of our County Education Officers.

The County Education Officers have meticulously organized residential facilities and other essential services to cater to the well-being of the TAC volunteer teachers.

Adeleke Roland Sunkanmi, the Representative of the Nigerian Technical Assistance Corps Volunteer Teachers, affirmed the unwavering commitment of the volunteer teachers to uphold the highest standards of professionalism.

He pledged their wholehearted collaboration with key stakeholders to elevate the quality of education for Liberian students.

He underscored that their mission transcends mere teaching; they are eager to immerse themselves in Liberia’s rich traditions, diverse cultures, and education system while serving as esteemed ambassadors for their homeland.

During the event, the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, through Charge d’Affaires Manir Ibrahim, submitted comprehensive medical reports for all volunteer teachers.

These documents attest to the teachers’ mental and physical fitness, affirming their alignment with the stringent standards set by the DTAC during the selection process and the guidelines governing deployment under Nigeria’s esteemed Technical Aid Corps Scheme.

The 14 distinguished TAC Volunteer Teachers include:1. Okunlola Israel Ojuotimi, Adeleke Roland Sunkanmi, Ojo Temitope Jhonbul, Suleiman Isaik, Mohammed Kawu Umar, Onyekwere Benedicta Obiama.

Others are Olowodalu Olaleye-Francis, Omidiora Josiah Fuminiyi, Bagu Amos Dalyop, Oloruntobi Abiodun Mary, Ugwu Ejike Samuel, Tonjes Dachung Dagwo, Ogunmiloye Abiodun Oluwafifunmi, Aliyu Jamiu Muhammed.

MOE: “This momentous occasion heralds a new era of collaboration and progress in Liberia’s educational landscape. We extend our heartfelt gratitude to our Nigerian counterparts and look forward to the positive impact of this endeavor on the future of our nation’s youth and the broader society.”

Related Posts

Leave a Comment