Home Governance Nyonblee’s Men! …As She Becomes Senate’s Pro-Tempore

Nyonblee’s Men! …As She Becomes Senate’s Pro-Tempore

by News Manager

MONROVIA: At last, Grand Bassa County Senator, Nyonblee Karnga-Lawrence, was yesterday, January 15, 2024, elected by the Senate as its President Pro-Tempore.
Senator Karnga-Lawrence is the second female President Pro-Tempore of the Liberian Senate in recent history. Beatrice Grace Minor of Montserrado during the Charles Taylor Administration was the first female President Pro-Tempore of the Senate in modern Liberia history.
On yesterday, Senator Karnga-Lawrence was nominated for the influential post by Bong County Senator, Prince Moye.
Senator Karnga-Lawrence’s arch rival, Grand Bassa County Senator, Gbehnzongar Milton Findley, who earlier declared his intention to contest the yesterday election, backed off from the race shortly after he was nominated for the post by Margibi County’s newly elected Senator, Nathaniel Falo McGill.
Senator Finley said he declined to contest due to normal ‘traditional political practice’ and consultations he held with his supporters. Both Senators Findley and Karnga-Lawrence hail from the same Grand Bassa County. Senator Findley also served as President Pro-Tempore of the Senate during the administration of Madam Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, as President of Liberia.
Former Senate Pro-Tempore, Grand Kru County Senator, Albert Chie, cast the ‘White Ballot’ for the election of Senator Karnga-Lawrence.

Senator Chie did not recontest due apparently to the United States Department of State travel restriction imposed on the Grand Kru Lawmaker and other officials for their alleged involvement in acts of corruption in the outgoing Government of Liberia.
The new Pro-Tempore Karnga-Lawrence, lauded her colleagues for her preferment and thanked Senator Findley for his decision to quit the polls.
Senator Karnga-Lawrence, Political Leader of the Liberty Party, was elected to the Legislature in 2013 following the abrupt death of former Grand Bassa County Senator, John Francis Whitfield, of the former ruling National Patriotic Party (NPP), and in 2020, she was re-elected in the Special Senatorial Elections held in December, 2020.
Senator Karnga-Lawrence was elected as Standard Bearer of the Liberty Party following the death LP’s Political Leader, Cllr. Charles Walker Brumskine.
Following a split within the Liberty Party, she and other Party’s stalwarts joined the Joseph Boakai Movement, styled: “RESCUE MISSION”.

She stood by President-elect, Joseph Nyuma Boakai, despite the fact that she was not selected as a JNB’s running mate in the 2023 Presidential and Legislative elections.
Her non-selection by JNB as his running mate, at the time, created apprehension among some executives of the divided Liberty Party.

Meanwhile, the Senate of the 55th Legislature has elected its leadership as all candidates won on white ballot.

The Leadership of the Senate for the 55th Legislature includes the followings: President-Pro-Tempore, Nyonblee Karnga-Lawrence; Chair on Executive: James Biney (Maryland); Chair on Foreign Affairs, Abraham Dillon (Montserrado); Chair on Public Works: Albert Tugbe Chie (Grand Kru); Chair on Judiciary, Augustine Chea (Sinoe); Chair on Ways, Means, Finance and Budget, Prince Moye (Bong).

Others are Chair on Defense and Security, Momo Cyrus (Lofa); Chair on Rules, Order and Administration, Gbleh-bo Brown (Maryland); Chair on Education, Nathaniel McGill (Margibi); Chair on Health, Daba Varplar (Grand Cape Mount); Chair on Internal Affairs, Prince Johnson (Nimba); Chair on Public Accounts, Amara Konneh (Gbarpolu); Senate Representatives to the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), Edwin Snowe and J. Alex Tyler (Both of Bomi County).

Both Senators Francis Dopoe (River Gee), and Crayton Ducan were named to represent the Senate to the International Parliamentary Union (IPU).

Related Posts

Leave a Comment