Home Governance HOR Reelects Chief Clerk Sayon, Sergeant-at-Arm Johnson

HOR Reelects Chief Clerk Sayon, Sergeant-at-Arm Johnson

by newsmanager

MONROVIA: Members of the House of Representatives of the 55th Legislature have overwhelmingly reelected Chief Clerk Mildred N. Sayon for the 3rd term and Sergeant-at-Arms Martin Johnson for the 5th term.
The House of Representatives has also elected C. Cormicks Chea, replacing G. Sayfurh Geplay who died in October.

The elections of the Speaker, Deputy Speaker and Secretariat Staff are in consonance with Article 49, which says: “The House of Representatives shall elect once every six years a Speaker who shall be the presiding officer of that body, a Deputy Speaker, and such other officers as shall ensure the proper functioning of the House. The Speaker, the Deputy Speaker and other officers so elected may be removed from office for cause by resolution of a two-thirds majority of the members of the House.
Madam Sayon, 51 and General Johnson, 59 were re-elected on Tuesday during the 2nd day sitting of the 1st Quarter of the House of Representatives of the 55th Legislative of the Republic of Liberia.
Mildred hailed from Harper City, Maryland County. She earned her Bachelor of Arts Degree in Business Administration (BBA) and Master Degree in Public Administration (MPA) respectively from the University of Liberia.
Chief Clerk Sayon served as Junior Stenographer from 1997 to 2006 and also served as Deputy Chief Clerk from 2006 to 2010 in the 52nd Legislature.
Following the death of Chief Clerk Atty. James Kaba in 2010, Mildred Sayon was elected Chief Clerk to end the term of her predecessor.
In 2012, 2018 and 2024 respectively, Chief Clerk went unopposed and will be considered the longest serving Chief Clerk in post-war Liberia.
Sergeant-at-Arm Johnson on Tuesday has been elected for the 5th term unopposed following the withdrawal of Deputy Sergeant-at-arm Morris Gibson, who maintained his position.
General Johnson has since been Sergeant-at-arms during the era of the Liberia national transitional government (abbreviated LNTG).
He is the longest, while Chief Clerk Sayon is the second.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment