Home Governance 3 Top Officials Confirmed

3 Top Officials Confirmed

by newsmanager

MONROVIA: The Liberian Senate has confirmed three top officials of President Joseph Nyuma Boakai.

Those confirmed by the Senate include Minister of State for Presidential Affairs, Sylvester Grigsby; Minister of Finance and Development Planning, Boima Kamara; and the Commissioner-General of the Liberia Revenue Authority, Dorbor Jallah.

Bong County Senator, Prince Moye who chairs the Senate Ways, Means, Finance and Budget Committee conducted the hearings on January 31, 2024.
The Senate confirmed the President’s nominees based on reports from both Senators Prince Moye and James Biney Committees’ distinct recommendations from Ways, Means, Finance, and Budget and Executive to the Plenary of the august body.

The reports submitted to the Senate Plenary yesterday, February 1, 2024, indicated that the confirmed personalities possessed the necessary academic qualifications, competence, and experience for their respective positions, as nominated by President Boakai.

About 27 Senators were present during regular Plenary session.
Accordingly, the confirmation process is in line with Article 54 of the Liberia 1986 Constitution which gives the President power and responsibility to nominate, and with consent of the Upper House (Senate), appoint and commission various government positions.

The fate of other nominees who also participated in the January 31st, 2024 confirmation hearings remain unclear as senators were tip lipped on their situation.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment